Published: Mon, March 12, 2018
World | By Camille Rivera

Narayan Rane gets BJP support for Rajya Sabha polls from Maharashtra

Narayan Rane gets BJP support for Rajya Sabha polls from Maharashtra

BJP has also chose to field Rajeev Chandrasekhar as party nominee from Karnataka while U Sameer will be saffron party candidate from Jharkhand. Former Union Minister Naranbhai Rathwa and party media panellist Amee Yagnik are fielded from Gujarat. On Sunday, BJP released a list with 18 names, while Congress released the list with 10 names who will be contesting for the upcoming Rajya Sabha.

Congress is likely to support BSP's lone candidate in UP so that they are able to seal the deal for 2019. In return, Congress will support the BSP candidate from Uttar Pradesh. With its depleted strength of 47 MLAs in the UP Assembly, the SP can get only one member elected to Rajya Sabha.

The choice of Mr Soni and Singh would help the party in the state going to the polls with Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, party sources said. The Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) has announced the names of party's general secretary J Santosh Kumar, B Lingaiah Yadav and B Prakash in Telangana.

Evidence Of Trump Efforts To Set Up Back Channel With Kremlin
Senior adviser Jared Kushner sits behind President Donald Trump during a cabinet meeting at the White House. Devlin Barrett writes about national security and law enforcement for The Washington Post .

Elections to the five Rajya Sabha seats from the state became necessary as the terms of Kunal Ghosh, Bibek Gupta and Nadimul Haque of the TMC and Tapan Sen of CPI-M will end on April 2. The BJP is yet to announce its third candidate.

Congress is yet to name its candidate.

The Congress wanted to accommodate one or two seniors in Karnataka, while Chief Minister Siddaramaiah was reportedly against giving tickets to an outsider in an election year.

New $10 bill featuring Viola Desmond
On Nov. 8, 1946, Desmond went to see a movie at the Roseland Theatre in New Glasgow while her vehicle was getting fixed. Canada's Finance Minister Bill Moreau and Bank of Canada governor Stephen Poloz assisted Robson with the unveiling.

The TRS nominees won with the extended support from Asaduddin Owaisi's All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM). The last date for filing of nomination papers is Monday.

The list showed BJP's electoral plans - Rane was brought in to strengthen Maharashtra unit where Shiv Sena is creating trouble, Meena for his utility in bringing his community to the party ahead of Assembly polls and Muralidharan to woo Malayalis. This despite the lobbying in New Delhi for former Lok Sabha Speaker, Meira Kumar, who also belongs to the same sub-sect, for this seat.

Besides the 11 seats from MLAs' quota in the Council, the l0 others (among total 21) falling vacant include six local self-government bodies' constituencies, two graduates' constituencies and two teachers' segments.

10-man Celtic bounce back to beat Rangers once more
To cap an unhappy day, defender David Bates was taken to hospital with a serious ankle injury after being stretchered off in the opening period. 'We were too slow in possession after the red card, we didn't look like us.

Like this: